Oklahoma DUI Law
Being charged with a DUI in Oklahoma is a serious offense, and depending on the circumstances, can result in a misdemeanor or felony charge and severe penalties. No one should face a DUI alone. Instead, anyone ticketed for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol should work with an experienced criminal defense attorney.
If a driver is found to have a blood-alcohol content of more than .08 percent, they will be charged with driving under the influence. Other drugs and substances can also result in a DUI charge. Even if it is a prescribed medication, anything that makes someone unable to drive a car safely can cause a DUI.
The minimum penalties for a DUI depend on the specific circumstances, the driver’s criminal record, and where the DUI is filed. If the DUI is a misdemeanor municipal case, the driver can be punished with up to 6 months in jail and a maximum fine of $1,200. A state misdemeanor DUI can result in 1 year in jail and up to a $1,000 fine.
In both situations, the driver can have their license suspended, be required to take alcohol education classes or receive treatment, and will have a permanent criminal record.
First DUI Convictions
If a driver has been charged with their first DUI, they may not be severely punished – but this depends on having strong legal counsel. A first-time DUI is usually a misdemeanor offense so long as there were no special circumstances such as children being in the car.
Subsequent DUI Convictions
If a driver has a previous DUI or other conviction within 10 years of the current situation, then there is a chance this subsequent charge will be brought as a felony. Felonies carry much harsher minimum penalties, including 1 to 5 years in state prison and a fine up to $2,500. A second felony offense is punishable by up to 10 years in prison and a $5,000 fine. A third felony offense can lead to 20 years in prison and a $5,000 fine.
Drivers with a BAC above .15 percent can be charged with aggravated DUI, which comes with additional penalties. Offenders can be required to install an ignition interlock device on their car.
Call an Oklahoma Criminal Defense Attorney
If you or a loved one is facing a DUI charge, contact Brown & Gould, PLLC at 405-235-4500 or contact us online to schedule an appointment. We represent individuals throughout Oklahoma and Texas facing DUIs.